Like the majority of schools in New Zealand, Opua School works to four terms per year. There is typically a break of two weeks between terms apart from the summer holidays over Christmas which is a seven week break.

This year:

2022 School Year, Term dates:

Term 1 – Wednesday 2nd February – Thursday, 14th April
Term 2 – Monday 2nd May – Friday, 8th July
Term 3 – Monday, 25th July – Friday, 30th September
Term 4 – Monday, 17th October – Wednesday, 14th December

Next Year:

2023 School Year, Term dates:

Term 1 – Wednesday 1st February – Thursday, 6th April
Term 2 – Monday 24th April – Friday, 30th June
Term 3 – Monday, 17th July – Friday, 22nd September
Term 4 – Monday, 9th October – Friday, 15th December

Typical Daily Routine

  •  Arrive at school between            8.30am – 8.55am
  •  Class starts                                    9.00am
  •  Learning Block 1                           9.00am – 11.00am
  •  Sit down eating                             11.00am – 11.07am
  •  Playtime                                         11.07am – 11.30am
  •  Learning Block 2                          11.30am – 1.00pm
  •  Sit down eating                             1.00pm – 1.15pm
  •  Playtime                                         1.15pm – 2.00pm
  •  Learning Block  3                         2.00pm – 2.55pm
  •  Duties, Pack up, Sharing            2.55pm – 3.00pm
  •  Home Time                                   3.00pm