2020 Term Dates

Like the majority of schools in New Zealand, Opua School works to four terms per year. There is typically a break of two weeks between terms apart from the summer holidays over Christmas which is a seven week break.

N.B. Dates below have been affected and altered from the originals due to the Covid-19 outbreak. Dates have had to change. From Tuesday, 9 June, school opened to normal teaching and learning under Alert Level 1 .

Term 1 – Start date Tuesday 4 February – End date Wednesday 25th March
Term 2 – Start date Wednesday 15 April – End date Friday 3 July
Term 3 – Start date Monday 20 July – End date Friday 25 September
Term 4 – Start date Monday 12 Oct – End date Friday 11 December*

*N.B This date has changed. Under the teachers’ Collective Agreement, there are 8 school days over the three years of the Agreement that can be taken as Teacher Only Days as long as our Parent Community are given a minimum of  one term’s notice. Our staff intend to take Monday, 14 December to Wednesday, 16 December, 2020 as three Teacher Only days to do some major planning work for 2021 and beyond.

2021 Term Dates

  • Dates still to be confirmed.

Typical Daily Routine

  •  Arrive at school between            8.30am – 8.55am
  •  Class starts                                    9.00am
  •  Learning Block 1                           9.00am – 11.00am
  •  Sit down eating                             11.00am – 11.07am
  •  Playtime                                         11.07am – 11.30am
  •  Learning Block 2                          11.30am – 1.00pm
  •  Sit down eating                             1.00pm – 1.15pm
  •  Playtime                                         1.15pm – 2.00pm
  •  Learning Block  3                         2.00pm – 2.55pm
  •  Duties, Pack up, Sharing            2.55pm – 3.00pm
  •  Home Time                                   3.00pm